So when I first started my career as an editor, the very first thing I did was look up the greatest books for film editors.

I had 5 of the best books written on post production in my Amazon cart:

The Conversations by Michael Ondaatje, In the Blink of An Eye by Walter Murch, Cut by Cut by Gael Chandler, Color Correction Handbook by Alexis Van Hurkman and Color Correction Look Book by Alexis Van Hurkman. ๐Ÿ“š

SO! There I was – all bright eyed and bushy tailed, ready to make my first purchases as an editor WHEN! …my card got declined. Multiple times. I made the decision to buy just one of the books for now and wait for the others until I could afford the luxury ๐Ÿ˜”

๐Ÿ”„FAST FORWARD TO 2 WEEKS AGO๐Ÿ”„

So there I am admiring the new FSI DM-series monitor at #TheEditorsRetreat just minding my own business and striking up conversation with the man standing on my left…who turns outtobeALEXISVANHURKMANWTF?!? Alexis Van freakin Hurkman?!? Once I am able to let the words “ohmahgawdsir Ive wanted your books for so long” escape my lips in the tone of a mouse squeak ๐Ÿ€ He asks for my card and then mails me 2 free copies WITH inscriptions. Wha – wha – how did I get so lucky?? If only you knew how much this means to me ๐Ÿ’œ thank you thank you Alexis! This is too much.

p23.png

